The college hockey season may have looked a little different this year, but award voting will go on anyway. Today, the ten finalists for the Hobey Baker Award were announced. The trophy is given to the top NCAA player in the country and has an impressive line of winners over the past few years. In 2014, Johnny Gaudreau took home the award as a junior for Boston College, followed by Jack Eichel in his only year for Boston University in 2015. Jimmy Vesey, Will Butcher, and Adam Gaudette don’t bring quite the same impact but are still NHL regulars after winning from 2016-18.

2019’s winner was University of Massachusetts defenseman Cale Makar, who has gone on to win the Calder Trophy as the NHL’s best rookie and is now dominating the league with the Colorado Avalanche. Last year the award was given to Scott Perunovich, but his NHL debut has been postponed thanks to a major shoulder injury.

The top-10 finalists are as follows, with the NHL organization who owns their draft rights in parenthesis:

Shane Pinto, University of North Dakota (Ottawa Senators)

Matthew Boldy, Boston College (Minnesota Wild)

David Farrance, Boston University (Nashville Predators)

Cole Caufield, University of Wisconsin (Montreal Canadiens)

Dylan Holloway, University of Wisconsin (Edmonton Oilers)

Spencer Knight, Boston College (Florida Panthers)

Jack LaFontaine, University of Minnesota (Carolina Hurricanes)

Dryden McKay, Minnesota State University-Mankato (undrafted)

Keith Petruzzelli, Quinnipiac University (Detroit Red Wings)

Odeen Tufto, Quinnipiac University (undrafted)