Miguel Cabrera didn't win a second consecutive Triple Crown, but that's about all that changed as the Detroit Tigers third baseman repeated as American League Most Valuable Player. Just like in 2012, Cabrera prevailed in the ongoing debate over defining the award and over Los Angeles Angels outfielder Mike Trout. Cabrera received 23 of the 30 first-place ballots in voting by the Baseball Writers' Association of America. Trout received five first-placed votes. Last year, Cabrera had 22 first-place votes to Trout's six and a 362-281 advantage in points (the number of votes increased this year to 30 – two per AL city – with the Houston Astros moving from the National League). Cabrera becomes the first back-to-back winner in the AL since Frank Thomas in 1993-94. The most recent consecutive winner in either league was St. Louis' Albert Pujols in 2008-09. Cabrera actually had a better offensive season than a year ago – his batting average, on-base percentage and slugging percentage all were higher and he led the AL in all three categories for the second consecutive season – despite being hampered by back, hip and groin problems much of the second half of the season.