File this one away – maybe until the next century or so – if and when someone challenges Mariano Rivera's all-time saves record. The retiring New York Yankees closer came in to pitch the ninth inning in Baltimore on Thursday after the Yankees had taken a 6-5 lead against the Orioles in the top of the inning. Three up three down – a typical Rivera night except for one thing. He didn't get career save No. 652. Instead he was declared the winning pitcher. And it's legit. Official scorer Mark Jacobson invoked Rule 10:17(c) which says "The official scorer shall not credit as the winning pitcher a relief pitcher who is ineffective in a brief appearance when at least one succeeding relief pitcher pitches effectively in helping his team maintain its lead.
Rule deprives Mariano Rivera of save for Yankees
USA Today | Sep 13