Georgia State’s R.J. Hunter was named the Sun Belt’s Player of the Year in men’s basketball on Tuesday, leading a parade of Panthers who received honors. Coaches and one media member covering each school voted. Ron Hunter was named the conference’s coach of the year after leading the team to a 17-1 record and top seed in the Sun Belt tournament, which begins on Thursday in New Orleans. Georgia State received a bye to Saturday’s semifinals. R.J. Hunter, a sophomore guard, was also named to the conference’s first team. He averaged a team-leading 18.5 points per game, the fourth-highest mark in the Sun Belt. He had the conference’s highest free-throw percentage (88.4), was second in steals (1.9 per game) and seventh in 3-point percentage (40.2). Joining Hunter on the first team was teammate Ryan Harrow, who was fifth in the conference in scoring (17.2 points per game), fourth in assists (4.4), fourth in free-throw percentage (83.0) and fifth in steals (1.3). Manny Atkins was named to the conference’s second team and Devonta White was named to the third team. Atkins, a senior forward, averaged 14.6 points and 6.1 rebounds per game. White, a senior point guard, averaged 11.8 points and 4.4 assists per game. It is the first all-conference honor either player has received. First Team R.J. Hunter (Georgia State, So., Guard) Elfrid Payton (Louisiana-Lafayette, Jr., G) Shawn Long (Louisiana-Lafayette, So., F) Reger Dowell (Texas-Arlington, Sr., Guard) Ryan Harrow (Georgia State, R-Jr., G) Second Team Augustine Rubit (South Alabama, Sr., F) Manny Atkins (Georgia State, Sr., F) Kirk Van Slyke (Arkansas State, Sr., Forward) T.J. Price (Western Kentucky, Jr., G) Will Neighbour (Arkansas-Little Rock, Sr., F) Third Team Brandon Edwards (Texas-Arlington, Sr., F) Tylor Ongwae (Louisiana-Monroe, Jr., F) George Fant (Western Kentucky, Jr., F) Melvin Johnson III (Arkansas State, Sr., G) Devonta White (Georgia State, Sr., G) Player of the Year: RJ Hunter Defensive Player of the Year: Elfrid Payton Freshman of the Year: Chris Harrison-Docks Coach of the Year: Ron Hunter