Florida Panthers center Aleksander Barkov was announced Friday as the winner of the Frank J. Selke Trophy as the NHL's best defensive forward during the 2020-21 season.

Barkov edged out fellow finalists Patrice Bergeron of the Boston Bruins and Mark Stone of the Vegas Golden Knights.

Read More - NHL GMs reportedly shocked at Seattle's ask to protect players in expansion draft

The Selke Trophy, which is named after Hall of Fame general manager Frank Selke, has been awarded since the 1977-78 NHL season.