A day later, Kendrick Perkins still wouldn't admit he did any wrong. He didn't have to. The NBA did it for him. In the Thunder's 107-103 win over Denver in Game 1 on Sunday, Perkins tipped in a missed jumper by Russell Westbrook to give the Thunder the lead for good. The basket put the Thunder up 102-101 with 1:05 left to play. But it shouldn't have counted. Perkins patted the ball back in as it was still on the rim, which, by rule, is goaltending. "They didn't call it so it was a bucket," said Perkins, when asked Monday if he goaltended the shot. Roughly two hours after Perkins declined to declare his basket dirty, the league did, releasing a statement acknowledging the officiating crew's error. "Kendrick Perkins was improperly credited with a basket that should have been ruled offensive basket interference with 1:05 remaining in (Sunday) night's game," the statement read. "Although a player is permitted to touch the net while the ball is in the cylinder above the rim, Perkins also touched the ball while it was still in the cylinder, which is a violation and constitutes goaltending." You could make the case that two days later, the play is water under the bridge. And if you're tired of hearing about it, welcome to life after the regular season. The NBA playoffs are the place where everything becomes magnified.
Oops, officials missed goaltending call against Thunder's Perkins
The Oklahoman | Apr 19