NHL awards season has begun. The league has announced the finalists for the Calder Trophy, given annually to the Rookie of the Year. The three candidates are Brendan Gallagher of Montreal, Jonathan Huberdeau of Florida and Brandon Saad of Chicago. Voting, done by the Professional Hockey Writers' Association, has already been completed. (For the record, Gallagher was the top choice on my ballot.) The winners of all the awards will be announced during the Stanley Cup finals. The league's annual award show got axed because of the lockout but will return to Las Vegas next season. The Sabres are expected to get shut out of the award process for the third straight season. In 2010, Ryan Miller won the Vezina Trophy and the Foundation Player Award, and Tyler Myers won the Calder.