The NHL admitted on Friday that a decision denying the Colorado Avalanche a tying goal against the St. Louis was wrong. Mikko Rantanen’s goal late in the third period was overturned after Sven Andrighetto was ruled to be off-side following a video review challenge issued by the Blues. Now here’s where the fun starts. Because Andrighetto was not ruled off-side by the linesman when he touches the puck in the Blues’ zone, when he leaves and re-enters the zone that’s considered a (clean) second zone entry. So the goal should have counted and the Avs should have had a power play for a failed off-side challenge.
NHL admits off-side challenge error that cost Avalanche a goal
Pro Hockey Talk | Oct 20