The Tennessee Titans lost their third consecutive game on Sunday and are in danger of playing their way out of the postseason, but the officiating crew is at least partially responsible for their latest disappointing effort. On Tuesday, NFL vice president of football communications Michael Signora confirmed that an error made by Walt Anderson’s crew cost the Titans what would have been a successful onside kick recovery. The play occurred after DeMarco Murray scored a touchdown to tie the score at 20-20 with 4:23 remaining in the third quarter. Tennessee caught the Los Angeles Rams out of position on a surprise onside kick, but a penalty flag was thrown. The Titans recovered the kick, but Anderson announced that the Rams had called a timeout. He then said they hadn’t and ruled that the ball was never put into play. Signora admitted that was a mistake in an email to Jason Wolf of The Tennesseean.
NFL admits officiating error cost Titans an onside kick recovery
Larry Brown Sports | Dec 26