The finalists for the 2020 Naismith Men's and Women's Coach of The Year Awards will soon learn who will win the prestigious awards given annually by the Atlanta Tipoff Club. The winners will be announced live Thursday at noon ET on CBS Sports HQ.

Each of the finalists led programs that were on track to advance deep in the NCAA Tournament before the coronavirus pandemic cut the season short. Still, they each reached impressive heights. 

Here's the breakdown on those in the running for the awards given to the best coach in men's and women's college basketball.

Naismith Men's Coach of the Year finalists 

Scott Drew, Baylor: Drew's tenure at Baylor reached its peak in year 17 as he guided the Bears to a 26-4 overall record that included a 15-3 mark in Big 12 play, their best since joining the conference in 1996. He did it with a team full of ferocious defenders and without signing a class ranked better than 36th nationally by 247Sports over the last five years. 

Brian Dutcher, San Diego State: The third-year coach led a team picked to finish second in the Mountain West to a 26-0 start by blending a group of transfers and returning players into a slow-paced but incredibly efficient team. The Aztecs faltered just a bit late with two losses in their final six games. But double-digit victories over Creighton and Iowa in the non-conference schedule are a testament to how lethal they could have been in the NCAA Tournament.