Major League Soccer announced on Friday that it is delaying the inaugural seasons of three expansion teams -- Charlotte, Sacramento Republic FC and St. Louis -- by one year because of the impact of COVID-19.

Charlotte will now make its debut in 2022, and Sacramento and St. Louis will begin play a year later. Austin FC is still scheduled to make its league debut in 2021.

The decision to delay the inaugural seasons of the three teams was driven primarily by the league, and the three teams agreed that waiting was the best course of action. The final decision was made by MLS commissioner Don Garber in conjunction with the league's expansion committee.