MLS teams will not play every other franchise at least once next season, a departure from scheduling since the league launched in 1996.

With expansion to Miami and Nashville growing the field to 26 teams and the number of regular season matches staying the same (34), clubs will play only 10 of 13 teams from the other conference.

MLS said Monday that Inter Miami will compete in the Eastern Conference while Nashville SC will join the Western Conference. Every team will play 24 intraconference matches (home and away against all others) and 10 interconference matches.

This past season, each of the 24 teams played the 11 conference rivals twice and all 12 teams in the other division once.

The simplest solution would have been to expand the regular season to 37 matches per team.