Get ready for a Major League Baseball postseason unlike any that's come before. 

We've known since MLB and the MLB Players Association agreed to an expanded playoff field—from 10 to 16 teams—in July that this year's postseason would be different. Following Tuesday's announcement of how it's all scheduled, we now have an idea of just how different it will be.

To start, the eight Wild Card Series will be played at the home parks of the higher-seeded teams. But in deference to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic, the following arrangements kick in for subsequent rounds:

American League Division Series: Dodger Stadium (Los Angeles) and Petco Park (San Diego)

American League Championship Series: Petco Park

National League Division Series: Globe Life Field (Arlington) and Minute Maid Park (Houston)

National League Championship Series: Globe Life Field

World Series: Globe Life Field

It might seem backward that NL games will be played in AL parks and vice versa, but that's to ensure teams such as the Los Angeles Dodgers, San Diego Padres and Houston Astros don't get to enjoy home-field advantage. Or, at least, what passes for it while fans aren't attending games.

Yet more so than where the playoffs unfold, when the games will take place is the most intriguing element of MLB's postseason plans.

Here's how the postseason is scheduled for now:

AL Wild Card Series (Best of 3): Sept. 29-Oct. 1

NL Wild Card Series (Best of 3): Sept. 30-Oct. 2

AL Division Series (Best of 5): Oct. 5-9

NL Division Series (Best of 5): Oct. 6-10

AL Championship Series (Best of 7): Oct. 11-17

NL Championship Series (Best of 7): Oct. 12-18

World Series (Best of 7): Oct. 20-28