A key player leadership group at the Major League Baseball Players Association has several new faces after Monday’s election during the union’s annual meetings. The term is for two years.

The players voted Jack Flaherty (Cardinals), Lance McCullers Jr. (Astros), Ian Happ (Cubs), Austin Slater (Giants), Lucas Giolito (White Sox) and Brent Suter (Rockies) to the union’s executive subcommittee, an MLBPA official said.

The only holdovers from the previous subcommittee are Francisco Lindor (Mets) and Marcus Semien (Rangers).

Max Scherzer, Andrew Miller, Zack Britton, Gerrit Cole, James Paxton and Jason Castro are no longer part of the subcommittee.

What is the subcommittee’s role?

The subcommittee works closely with senior union staff like Tony Clark and deputy director Bruce Meyer. The role comes with significant responsibility, too. Typically, when the union decides matters like accepting a new collective bargaining agreement, 38 players carry a vote — the eight players on the subcommittee, and the 30 player reps.