Just hours before the start of the 2020 regular season, the Major League Baseball Players Association approved an agreement with MLB to expand its postseason this year, the league announced Thursday.

The expansion will increase the postseason from 10 teams to 16 teams. 

According to ESPN, the agreement  is just for this season.

ESPN's Buster Olney reported earlier Thursday that as part of the 16-team expanded playoff proposal, the No. 1, 2, 3 seeds in each league—the Division winners—would pick their opponents among the other five teams.