Major League Baseball is making it simple again: Catch the ball, get an out. When baseball instituted its new replay rules, it essentially changed the definition of a catch when a fielder was trying to turn a double play at second base, saying that the player had to not only catch the ball but maintain control of it as he removed the ball (transferred it) before throwing to first base. Now baseball has gone back to the original definition, which says the fielder gets one out if he makes the catch -- even if he drops the ball when trying to transfer it for a throw.
MLB: No need to transfer ball to get one out
ESPN | Apr 25