What has been inevitable for weeks is now official: the Milwaukee Brewers are the 2021 NL Central champions. The Brewers clinched the division title Sunday afternoon with their 8-4 win over the Mets. Milwaukee had already clinched a postseason spot last week, though now the club knows it will avoid the win-or-go-home Wild Card Game.

The Brewers had been in sole possession of first place in the NL Central since June 23, two games into an 11-game winning streak. Milwaukee clinched the division in front of an announced sellout crowd of 43,430 at American Family Field.

The Brewers last won the NL Central in 2018, when they beat the Cubs in a Game 163 tiebreaker to clinch the division. This is only Milwaukee's third division title since moving from the AL Central to the NL Central 1998. They also won the division in 2011 and 2018. The Brewers also won two division titles during their time in the AL East (1981 and 1982).