The Michigan Wolverines fell one game short of the Final Four via Tuesday's narrow loss to the UCLA Bruins, but coach Juwan Howard was nevertheless honored on Thursday as the Associated Press men’s college basketball coach of the year. 

Per John Marshall, Howard earned 35 of 63 votes from national media panel members. Mark Few of the Gonzaga Bulldogs finished second with 16 votes. Scott Drew of the Baylor Bears and Nate Oats of the Alabama Crimson Tide both earned five votes. 

The Wolverines climbed to No. 2 in the AP rankings during the 2020-21 season that included a lengthy pause after the University of Michigan temporarily halted athletic activities because of COVID-19 outbreaks related to a coronavirus variant.