Creighton's Doug McDermott and Wichita State's Gregg Marshall have been selected as The Associated Press' player and coach of the year, respectively. McDermott, who finished his career at Creighton as college basketball's fifth-leading scorer, was a near-unanimous selection as player of the year. He is the 11th three-time All-American and first in almost 30 years. He led the nation in scoring with 26.7 points a game and shot 52.6 percent from the field, including 44.9 percent from 3-point range. "This is a huge honor," said McDermott, who was joined at the news conference by his father, Creighton coach Greg McDermott, and his mother and sister. "It's been a heck of a ride." The 6-foot-8 McDermott also averaged 7.0 rebounds in leading the Bluejays to a 27-8 record in their first season as a member of the Big East. He finished his career with 3,150 points. The awards ceremony was also a reunion for McDermott and Marshall, who became familiar with each other when Creighton and Wichita State tussled for Missouri Valley Conference supremacy. Wichita State became the first in 33 years to reach the NCAA tournament undefeated. The Shockers entered the tournament at 34-0 and as a No. 1 seed, and became the first team in NCAA men's history to win its first 35 games. They lost to Kentucky in the third round. Indiana in 1976 is the last unbeaten national champion.