Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield was named the 2017 Davey O’Brien Award winner Thursday night during ESPN’s college football awards show. The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award honors the nation’s best quarterback. The 41st Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner will be held at The Fort Worth Club on Feb. 19. “He’s the leader of our team, I know everyone in Sooner Nation is proud of Baker and what he’s done,” Oklahoma coach Lincoln Riley said. Mayfield has thrown for 4,340 yards and 41 touchdowns with five interceptions. His 203.8 pass efficiency rating leads the country, almost 20 points higher than the next closest quarterback.