Manchester United have revealed that Luke Shaw misheard what referee Stuart Attwell said to Harry Maguire after controversy arrived in their 0-0 draw at Chelsea on Sunday.

Following the game, Shaw said that Attwell had told Maguire that he couldn’t give the penalty kick for a handball as it was ‘going to cause a lot of talk’ after the game.

Apparently, that wasn’t the case.

The incident in question occurred in the first half as the ball hit the hand of Chelsea defender Callum Hudson-Odoi, who was close to Manchester United’s Mason Greenwood in the penalty box, and Attwell was told by VAR to look at the incident on the pitch-side monitor. After looking at the footage, Attwell decided to not award a penalty kick.

Here is more info from Manchester United to our partners in the UK at Sky Sports as Shaw’s initial claim was off the mark

“United have moved to clarify the conversation between Maguire and Attwell, telling Sky Sports News that Maguire has told club officials that Shaw misheard what was said regarding the penalty.”