After a night to sleep on it, Joe Girardi agreed with what many believed following a disastrous ALDS Game 2 loss Friday to the Indians, when he didn’t use a challenge in the bottom of the sixth after Chad Green was ruled to have hit Lonnie Chisenhall to load the bases. “I screwed up,” Girardi said Saturday at Yankee Stadium with his team on the verge of elimination. “It’s a hard day for me, but I’ve got to move forward.” Girardi said the replays they saw immediately following the play didn’t definitely show that the pitch hit Chisenhall’s bat, which would have been a third strike to end the inning. Instead, Chisenhall went to first and Francisco Lindor followed with a grand slam that got the Indians to within a run in a game they ended up winning in 13 innings in Cleveland.
Joe Girardi on Yankees’ Game 2 collapse: ‘I screwed up’
New York Post | Oct 7