3:00 PM


Apr 4

Iowa's Garza, UConn's Bueckers named Naismith Trophy winners

Josh Weinstein

55m ago

Carmen Mandato / Getty Images Sport / Getty

Iowa forward Luka Garza and UConn guard Paige Bueckers have been named Naismith Trophy winners for the 2020-21 season, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced Saturday.

Garza is the first Hawkeyes player to win the award. The back-to-back Big Ten Player of the Year ranked second in the nation with 24.1 points per game this season.

"Winning an award in Naismith's name is an honor my family and I will always treasure. Naismith changed my life, and so many others, by creating the game that so many love," Garza said in a statement. "In 2015, when my dad and I watched Frank Kaminsky accept the Naismith Trophy in Indianapolis, I never thought I would be in this position six years later."