We’ve already looked at what pick(s) each of the 30 teams in Major League Baseball would need to surrender in order to sign one of the 10 free agents who rejected a qualifying offer last week. On the other side of the coin is what type of compensation each of the eight teams that issued a qualifying offer — the Nationals and Giants issued two apiece — would receive if those players sign with new clubs.

As with draft forfeitures, draft compensation is largely tied to the financial status of the team losing the player. And in 2019, seven of the eight teams that issued qualifying offers fall into the same bucket: teams that neither exceeded the luxury threshold nor received revenue-sharing benefits. This applies to the Astros, Nationals, Giants, Mets, Cardinals, White Sox and Braves. In such cases, the default compensation for losing a qualified free agent is applied.