It wasn't extra innings or a walk-off but the D-backs did leave it late scoring twice in the eighth to come from behind and beat the Nationals in the season finale at Chase Field. They end the year with the same record as last at an even 81-81. Things started brightly the D-backs getting a run in the first inning on a Paul Goldschmidt sacrifice fly after an error by the pitcher on an Adam Eaton bunt put men on second and third with no outs. However that was about all they would be able to do against the Nationals' spot starter Tanner Roark who held us to three hits and a walk over seven innings. Wade Miley in his final start was almost as good blanking the Nationals into the sixth when errors by Martin Prado and Gerardo Parra allowed the Nationals to score twice. Miley ended the year by throwing seven innings scattering eight hits and a walk with two strikeouts and only one of the two runs allowed being earned.