Connor McDavid of the Edmonton Oilers, Auston Matthews of the Toronto Maple Leafs and Nathan MacKinnon of the Colorado Avalanche are the three finalists for the 2020-21 Hart Memorial Trophy, the NHL announced Thursday.

The award is given annually to “the player adjudged to be the most valuable to his team.”

McDavid registered a league-best 105 points during the regular season — 21 more than the next closest player and reigning Hart Trophy winner, teammate Leon Draisaitl. The 24-year-old also topped the NHL in assists (72), power-play assists (28) and power-play points (37). McDavid recorded a league-leading 1.88 points per game and was a factor in 57.38 per cent of the Oilers’ 183 goals (excluding the shootout), which is the highest single-season percentage in NHL history.

The Richmond Hill, Ont., native previously won the Hart Trophy in 2016-17 and finished third in voting for 2018-19. He is seeking to become the fifth player in NHL history to win the Hart Trophy multiple times before the age of 25, following in the footsteps of Wayne Gretzky, Bobby Orr, Gordie Howe and Alex Ovechkin.