Kansas University freshman basketball player Andrew Wiggins was named 2013 Gatorade High School Male Athlete of the Year on Tuesday night at an awards ceremony at the West Hollywood (Calif.) Hotel. Wiggins, a 6-foot-7 small forward from Thornhill, Ontario, averaged 23.4 points and 11.2 rebounds his senior year at Huntington (W.Va.) Prep High. The other male nominees were Trayvon Bromell (track and field), Max Browne (football), Edward Cheserek (cross country), Clint Frazier (baseball) and Cristian Roldan (soccer). He received the silver trophy from Indiana Pacers All-Star Paul George, San Diego Chargers quarterback Phillip Rivers and Olympic medal-winning sprinter Bryshon Nellum. “It feels pretty good to know I’m the first Canadian to get this, so it’s really big for my country,” Wiggins told USA Today. “I really wanted to win it. It’s just a blessing,” Wiggins added. “I kind of don’t realize at first it’s such a big deal. I think it will hit me more afterward.” He’s expected to be the No. 1 pick in the 2014 NBA Draft. “I don’t really pay attention to (high) expectations from other people,” Wiggins said. “I make goals for myself, my family and God.” Past winners include current NBA standouts LeBron James, Dwight Howard and Kevin Love. After the ceremony, Wiggins told the Associated Press his goal has been to play in the NBA “ever since I was on earth.” First up is his year at KU where he said his goal is a national title. “I think I can give the fans what we want,” he said. Morgan Andrews, a soccer forward from Milford (N.H.) High School, was named Female Athlete of the Year. Andrews will play at Notre Dame after scoring 31 goals her senior season. Other finalists: Sarah Baxter (cross country), Lauren Carlini (volleyball), Carley Hoover (softball), Mercedes Russell (basketball) and Kendell Williams (track and field). USA Today reports that Wiggins is the sixth boys basketball player to win Athlete of the Year honors in the 11-year history of the award. A McDonald’s All-American, Wiggins also won the 2013 Naismith Boys High School Player of the Year Award. Wiggins and Andrews tonight will be honored at the ESPY Awards in Los Angeles.