Miami Heat guard Dwyane Wade escaped severe NBA sanction for the elbow he landed to Indiana Pacers guard Lance Stephenson in Game 2 of these NBA Eastern Conference finals and was back in the starting lineup for Sunday night's Game 3 at Bankers Life Fieldhouse.

Wade on Sunday afternoon was retroactively assessed a Flagrant 1 foul for his hit on Stephenson, which was not ruled a foul at the time. Had Wade been called for a Flagrant 1 foul during Friday's Game 2 Heat loss at AmericanAirlines Arena, Indiana, which already had possession would have been awarded two free throws.

Under the NBA's penalty system for flagrant fouls in the postseason, a player is suspended when he reaches four flagrant "points," with one point for a Flagrant 1 foul and two points for a Flagrant 2 foul.