Given the chance to split a four-game series on the road against the defending American League champions, the Red Sox dropped the ball.
Well, sort of.
The way right fielder Daniel Nava saw it, the eighth inning of a tie game against the Tigers opened with him making a basket catch on Avisail Garcia’s fly ball and maintaining control of the ball before fumbling it on the transfer from his glove to his left hand. No big deal, Nava said, and certainly nothing that would negate the catch.

But second base umpire Mike DiMuro took a different view, ruling that Nava never got the ball into his throwing hand. Nava, who replaced injured Shane Victorino one inning earlier, was charged with an error, Garcia was granted second base, and the Tigers went on to score three runs in a 7-5 victory, the Red Sox’ fourth loss in five games.
“I made the catch,” said Nava, who pleaded his case to DiMuro. “I know I made the catch.”
John Farrell wasn’t as diplomatic. After earning his first ejection as Red Sox manager for arguing with DiMuro, Farrell repeatedly referred to the controversial play as a “blown call” and wondered why first base umpire Scott Barry wasn’t in a better position to make the call.
“Clearly, the call was missed,” Farrell said. “He caught it. Went to transfer to his throwing hand, dropped it at that point. It wasn’t like it was an instantaneous movement. He caught it in front of him, took it to his left hip to naturally throw the ball back in.”
Speaking on behalf of DiMuro, crew chief Ted Barrett defended the call, explaining that a catch isn’t a catch unless the outfielder has “complete control and voluntary release.” He also said DiMuro has jurisdiction to make the call over Barry when there aren’t runners on base.