The BBWAA announced the nominees for their major postseason awards on MLB Network tonight, and as expected defending NL MVP Ryan Braun was selected as one of five candidates for the award again in 2012.

Braun joins Padres third baseman Chase Headley, Pirates outfielder Andrew McCutchen, Cardinals catcher Yadier Molina and Giants catcher Buster Posey among the candidates, with the winner to be announced on Thursday, November 15.