Robert Griffin III, quarterback for the Washington Redskins, was named The Associated Press Offensive Rookie of the Year on Saturday.

Griffin received 29 votes. Indianapolis quarterback Andrew Luck received 11 votes and Seahawks quarterback Russell Wilson had 10.

The awards are based on balloting from a nationwide panel of 50 media members who regularly cover the NFL.

"All the competition for this award is extremely good," Griffin said. "It seems like the league's in good hands with the young quarterbacks."

Linebacker Luke Kuechly, Carolina's tackling machine, was named Defensive Rookie of the Year. He earned 28 votes to outdistance Seahawks linebacker Bobby Wagner, who had 11.

Adrian Peterson, who rushed for 2,109 yards just one year after major knee surgery, earned the Most Valuable Player award. Earlier, he was named Offensive Player of the Year. Houston defensive end J.J. Watt, who had 20 ½ sacks, won Defensive Player of the Year.