The voters in the Baseball Writers Association of America deemed David Price, Justin Verlander, and Jered Weaver as the three finalists for the American League Cy Young Award. Each had a narrative to claim in the process. Price led the league in ERA and tied with Weaver for the highest win total at 20 wins as well as win-loss percentage, Verlander had the highest Wins Above Replacement score at Baseball Prospectus, Baseball-Reference, and Fangraphs, threw more innings, completed more games, and struck out more hitters than any other pitcher, while Weaver also led the league in fewest hits allowed and fewest baserunners allowed per nine innings.

In the end, the voters used a variety of methods to fill out their ballots whether it be more advanced metrics, traditional metrics, or narratives and chose David Price as the 2012 Cy Young winner. Price garnered 14 first place votes, 13 second place votes, and a third place vote to total 153 points besting Verlander's total of 149. The irony is that one voter gave Fernando Rodney a first place vote and gave Verlander the 2nd place vote while two LA-based writers gave Weaver 2nd place votes over Verlander thus giving Rodney a save in Price's win tonight.

With the first place finish, Price becomes the first pitcher in franchise history to win the award and it gives him a first and second place finish in the Cy Young voting in just three full seasons of pitching in the major leagues. Price was able to overcome Verlander's superior WAR grades with a combination of traditional narratives, extensive research, or perhaps a blend of both. A tale of the tape approach of the three finalists show just how similar Price and Verlander were in 2012.