The Baseball Writers Association of America on Wednesday announced the finalists for their major awards. Clayton Kershaw is one of three finalists for the National League Cy Young Award, along with R.A. Dickey of the New York Mets and Gio Gonzalez of the Washington Nationals.

This is the first year the BBWAA announced finalists for their awards ahead of time.

The top three in each league were announced for Rookie of the Year, Manager of the Year, and Cy Young Award, and the top five were announced for Most Valuable Player. The Cy Young Awards for both the National League and American League will be announced on Wednesday, Nov. 14, in a televised program beginning at 3 p.m. PT on MLB Network.

Kershaw, who captured the award last season with 27 of 32 first place votes, is the first Dodger to finish in the top three of Cy Young Award voting in consecutive seasons since Fernando Valenzuela in 1981-1982.