Michigan State's backcourt is considered by some, including Spartans' coach Tom Izzo, to be the best in the nation. That was reflected in the release of the "Midseason 30" for the Naismith Trophy.

Spartans' senior point guard Keith Appling and shooting guard Gary Harris were both among the 30 players on the midseason list for the award, which is presented annually to the top women's and men's college basketball players in the nation.

The men's trophy, established in 1969, is presented by the Atlanta Tipoff Club and is selected by a panel of leading basketball journalists, coaches and administrators around the country. Additionally, fan voting accounts for 25 percent of the final tabulation.

Michigan's Trey Burke won the award last year.

Michigan State has never had a player win the Naismith Trophy.

The four finalists for the award will be selected in March.