Three quarterbacks were named finalists for the Maxwell Award, given anually to the "college player of the year," so it should come as little surprise that those same three players were named as the finalists for the Davey O'Brien Award; given to the nation's best quarterback.

AJ McCarron, Alabama

Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M

Jameis Winston, Florida State

All three players are in contention to collect some serious hardware in December, and it is unlikely that one player will sweep the honors reserved for elite quarterbacks. The Maxwell Award winner and Heisman Trophy winner were different last season, and any of these three could pop up as a first-team All-American on different lists next month.