Texas A&M's Johnny Manziel and Ohio State's Braxton Miller headline a list of 16 semifinalists for the Davey O'Brien Award, which is awarded to the best quarterback in the nation.

Manziel, who won the award in 2012, is trying to become only the fourth player in history to win the award twice. BYU's Ty Detmer (1990 and 1991), Florida's Danny Wuerffel (1995 and 1996) and Oklahoma's Jason White (2003 and 2004) are the only other players to take home the trophy more than once.

Davey O'Brien Semifinalists:

Blake Bortles, UCF

Tajh Boyd, Clemson

Teddy Bridgewater, Louisville

Derek Carr, Fresno State

Brett Hundley, UCLA

Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois

Sean Mannion, Oregon State

Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M

Marcus Mariota, Oregon

AJ McCarron, Alabama

Zach Mettenberger, LSU

Braxton Miller, Ohio State

Aaron Murray, Georgia

Bryce Petty, Baylor

Connor Shaw, South Carolina

Jameis Winston, Florida State