University of Louisville senior Russ Smith and Kentucky freshman Julius Randle advanced Thursday in their pursuit to become college basketball’s player of the year.

Both local standouts made the list of 15 Oscar Robertson Trophy finalists announced by the United States Basketball Writers Association.

Now it’s up to a vote of almost 1,000 USBWA members to determine a winner announced April 4 at the Final Four in Dallas and presented his recognition April 14 at an awards banquet in Oklahoma City.

Other finalists include Creighton’s Doug McDermott, Kansas’ Andrew Wiggins and Duke’s Jabari Parker. Cards and Cats opponents are represented with Florida senior Casey Prather, Connecticut senior Shazz Napier and Cincinnati senior Sean Kilpatrick all in the running.

Smith and Randle, the leading scorers for their teams, are also in the running for the Wooden Award, the other major player of the year distinction in college basketball.

Additionally, Randle is one of six finalists for the Wayman Tisdale Award presented by the USBWA to the nation’s top freshman. Others on the list are Wiggins, Parker, Arizona’s Aaron Gordon, Syracuse’s Tyler Ennis and Kansas’ Joel Embiid.