Tampa Bay Lightning forward Marty St. Louis is a finalist for the Ted Lindsay Award, given annually to the National Hockey League's most outstanding player as voted upon by members of the NHL Players' Association.

Other finalists for the 2012-13 award announced Thursday by the NHLPA were center Sidney Crosby of the Pittsburgh Penguins and right wing Alex Ovechkin of the Washington Capitals.

The recipient will be announced during the 2013 Stanley Cup Finals.

Crosby, Ovechkin and St. Louis are all previous winners of the award.

The Ted Lindsay Award is the only award voted on by the players themselves, carrying on the tradition established by the Lester B. Pearson Award since 1970-71. The award honors Ted Lindsay, an All-Star forward known for his skill, tenacity, leadership, and for his role in establishing the original players' association.