Blackhawks captain Jonathan Toews again came up short against the Canucks' Ryan Kesler.

Kesler, who helped lead his team over the Hawks in the Western Conference quarterfinals in April, was awarded the Frank J. Selke Trophy for being the NHL's top defensive forward during the NHL Awards ceremony Wednesday night in Las Vegas.

Toews, who was the Hawks' only finalist for a trophy, finished a distant second in the voting while the Red Wings' Pavel Datsyuk was third. Datsyuk was attempting to win his fourth consecutive Selke Trophy.

Blackhawks goaltender Corey Crawford was named to the NHL's all-rookie team.

Other award winners included Anaheim's Corey Perry, who scored a league-best 50 goals, won the Hart Trophy. His surprise win came at the expense of scoring champion Daniel Sedin of the Canucks, who was trying to complete an unprecedented MVP double dip after his twin brother and teammate Henrik took the honors last year.