I just received the following press release from Howard Cole, Director of the IBWAA:

Los Angeles - The Internet Baseball Writers Association of America (IBWAA) announced its 2012 Most Valuable Player Awards Monday, electing Buster Posey in the National League and Miguel Cabrera in the American League.

Election results are as follows:


1st Place: Miguel Cabrera, Detroit Tigers

2nd Place: Mike Trout, Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim

3rd Place: Adrian Beltre, Texas Rangers

4th Place: Josh Hamilton, Texas Rangers

5th Place: Robinson Cano, New York Yankees

6th Place: Adam Jones, Baltimore Orioles

7th Place: Prince Fielder, Detroit Tigers

8th Place: Justin Verlander, Detroit Tigers

9th Place: Edwin Encarnación, Toronto Blue Jays

10th Place: Derek Jeter, New York Yankees


1st Place: Buster Posey, San Francisco Giants

2nd Place: Ryan Braun, Milwaukee Brewers

3rd Place: Andrew McCutchen, Pittsburgh Pirates

4th Place: Yadier Molina, St. Louis Cardinals

5th Place: Chase Headley, San Diego Padres

6th Place: David Wright, New York Mets

7th Place: Adam LaRoche, Washington Nationals

8th Place: Jay Bruce, Cincinnati Reds

9th Place: Joey Votto, Cincinnati Reds

10th Place: Matt Holliday, St. Louis Cardinals

The IBWAA will announce its Hall of Fame election results January 7, 2013.

The IBWAA was established July 4, 2009 by Howard Cole, editor of BaseballSavvy.com, to organize and promote the growing online baseball media, and to serve as a digital alternative to the BBWAA.

Among others, IBWAA members include Barry Bloom, MLB.com; Tim Brown, Yahoo Sports; Fred Claire, former General Manager, Los Angeles Dodgers; Joe McDonnell, FoxSportsWest.com; Ramona Shelburne, ESPNLA.com; Tom Hoffarth, J.P. Hoornstra and Jill Painter, Los Angeles Daily News; Kevin Baxter, Los Angeles Times; and prominent baseball authors Paul Dickson, Peter Golenbock, Josh Pahigian and Dan Schlossberg.