Exclusivity is great.

The fact that Hall of Fame voters are pickier than 4-year-olds at a vegan restaurant is precisely what makes Cooperstown more legitimate than Canton, Springfield, Toronto and St. Augustine combined.

What happened on Wednesday, or what didn't, was not exclusivity.

It was three cups of cheap moralism and a tablespoon of chemical profiling, mixed well with a dash of plain ignorance.

Faced with perhaps the most accomplished ballot since the first one, the Baseball Writers Association of America elected none of the above.

Craig Biggio's 3,060 hits weren't good enough, but he did lead the voting. He was not rejected but postponed, since he is eligible through 2027 as long as he always gets 5 percent.

But then Mike Piazza got 57.8 percent of the vote, well short of the required 75, and Roger Clemens got 37.6 percent and Barry Bonds 36.2.

So here is who you won't see on your next visit to the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum in bucolic Otsego County, N.Y.

•The all-time leader in hits (Pete Rose).

•The all-time leader in home runs and walks (Bonds).

•The man who won freedom of movement for players and thus transformed the sport (Marvin Miller).

•And a 288-game winner who, with his surgeon, staged a tendon-transplant operation that elongated thousands of pitching careers (Tommy John and Frank Jobe).

Clemens ranks ninth all-time in wins and third in strikeouts. Piazza hit 45 more home runs as a catcher than anyone else.

The writers can't vote on Rose because he is on baseball's permanent ineligible list.