The players voted to retain incumbent captains Eli Manning Justin Tuck and Zak DeOssie and also elected guard Chris Snee and safety Antrel Rolle.

“These guys were all elected by the players” coach Tom Coughlin said. “Am I happy they were selected? Yes I am because I think the number one thing is always ‘team’ and people have to lead by example first and ‘well done is better than well said.’ Yet through the course of the long and difficult challenging season you’re going to see an opportunity for people to show what they’re made of in good and bad and that’s where leadership comes from. Adversity remember makes you stronger according to John Wooden.”

Five captains is the Giants’ highest total since 2008. Asked if he encouraged the players to add two additional captains Coughlin said “No it just comes by virtue of the votes.”

It is the sixth consecutive season Manning has been elected a captain the fourth time for Tuck and the third for DeOssie. Snee and Rolle were team leaders long before receiving the formal endorsement of their teammates.

Coughlin believes all five players are worthy of the honor.