As eloquence goes, no one will ever confuse Chicago Blackhawks defenseman Duncan Keith’s oratory skills with, say, Morgan Freeman. Like the time we all thought he was proud of the head-shot he gave Daniel Sedin, but it turned out he just left out the word “not.”
On Monday night, after the Blackhawks’ 3-1 loss at the Vancouver Canucks, Keith’s eloquence was on display again in speaking with Karen Thomson, a reporter for Team 1040 in Vancouver, who asked him about this play against (who else?) Daniel Sedin on the Canucks’ third goal:

As you can see, Keith gave Sedin a rather solid slash to the back on the goal, which went un-penalized. Thomson decided to confront Keith about it in the postgame, and … well, things got a little too gender-specific for some.

Keith: “What did you see?”
Thomson: “Well, there it looked like there was a penalty that went undetected. You seemed a bit frustrated.”
Keith: “Oh, no. I don’t think there was. I think he scored a nice goal, and that’s what the ref saw. Maybe we should get you as a ref maybe, hey?
Thomson: “Yeah, maybe. Can’t skate though.”
Keith: “First female referee. Can’t probably play either, right? But you’re thinking the game, like you know it? Seeya.”

First off: The Blackhawks would do well to release the full audio or video of this exchange if it’s available. We’re heard there’s a bit more provocation on the part of Thomson than the Team 1040 audio would let on. Again: Not confirmed, just relayed to us.
But as for Keith … yeah, the “first female ref” comment was just begging for someone to crown him King Duncan, Lord of the Sexists. It's oafish and demeaning.
But I don’t think that was his intention.
His intention was to do what many pro athletes backed into a corner do, which is to accuse the journalist pestering them of being a clueless moron because they “never played the game.”
(Which must suck for science writers, who are summarily disqualified from opining about the Rover because they’ve never been to [expletive] Mars ...)