It'll be a little different Wednesday when the NHL gathers its stars for the annual awards show in Las Vegas, at least from the Red Wings' perspective.

There will be no Nicklas Lidstrom to take home another Norris Trophy as the league's best defenseman. Lidstrom won the award seven times, but wasn't voted a finalist this season and retired a few weeks ago.

In fact, the lone Wings representative Wednesday will be Pavel Datsyuk, who is a finalist for the fifth consecutive season for the Selke Trophy.

Who will win the awards? Let's take a look at each of the major categories.

Selke Trophy (best defensive forward)

Candidates: David Backes, St. Louis; Patrice Bergeron, Boston; Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit. Who'll win: Backes.

If Datsyuk were to win, he would tie Bob Gainey for most Selkes won (four), but it's doubtful that will happen. Backes was the best overall forward on the league's best defensive team, which likely carried a lot of weight with voters. Backes had 72 blocked shots and 50 takeaways, and was plus-15 while going against opposing teams' best lines.

Don't discount Bergeron, who had the league's best plus-minus, plus-36, while playing 18 minutes per game, and with only 20 penalty minutes.