Sidney Crosby of the Pittsburgh Penguins, the Washington Capitals' Alex Ovechkin and Martin St. Louis of the Tampa Bay Lightning were announced Thursday as the finalists for the 2013 Ted Lindsay Award.

The award is presented annually to the most outstanding player in the NHL, as voted by fellow members of the National Hockey League Players' Association.

Crosby, who previously won the award in 2007, finished tied for third in the League in scoring with 56 points, but led the League with a 1.56 points-per-game average. He was limited to 36 games due to a broken jaw, and despite not playing a regular-season game after March 30, wasn't overtaken for the League scoring lead until the final week of the season. He also had 15 goals and a career-best plus-26 rating.

Ovechkin won the Rocket Richard Trophy for the third time after scoring a League-best 32 goals. He also topped the League with 16 power-play goals, and tied Crosby for third in the League with 56 points. Ovechkin was at his best when the Capitals were pushing for a Southeast Division title, totaling 22 goals and 41 points in his final 29 games. Ovechkin is one of only five players to win the award three times, a group that includes Wayne Gretzky (five times) Mario Lemieux (four), Jaromir Jagr (three) and Guy Lafleur (three).