With 1:59 remaining in the Bulls’ loss Monday night to the Pacers, backup shooting guard Marco Belinelli hit a mid-range shot to narrow the score to 98-94 in Indiana’s favor.

On the subsequent trip, a Pacers turnover led to the Bulls having an opportunity to make it a one-possession game, Belinelli, who scored a game-high 24 points despite rolling his ankle earlier in the contest, appeared to have saved the ball from going out of bounds.

Except the game officials, after briefly conferring, ruled it Indiana ball. It was a questionable call, but end of story, right?

If only it were that simple. According to NBA rules, in the final two minutes close calls are supposed to be review on a court-side video monitor, but for whatever reason the officials declined to do so.

“[Referee] Mike Callahan went and asked them, and they said that there was no need. It’s reviewable under two minutes,” said an obviously frustrated Bulls head coach Tom Thibodeau, noting that the explanation given to him was that there was “no need” to look at the play again. “It’s subjective. If there’s any question, supposedly you do it.”

The play derailed the Bulls’ comeback attempt and on the ensuing possession, Pacers All-Star swingman Paul George knocked down a triple, giving Indiana a 101-94 lead. The hosts didn’t look back, eventually winning, 111-101, but although the non-call was a pivotal moment, Belinelli insisted that the team needed to move on.