As expected, Clayton Kershaw did not win the 2012 National League Cy Young Award, but he did finish second to R.A. Dickey of the New York Mets. Kershaw is the first Dodgers pitcher to finish in the top two in Cy Young balloting since Sandy Koufax, who won back-to-back awards in 1965-1966.

Dickey received 27 of 32 first-place votes from the Baseball Writers' Association of America, and 209 total points. The knuckleballer, who turned 38 on Oct. 29, was 20-6 with a 2.73 ERA and a National League-best 230 strikeouts. He also led the league with five complete games, three shutouts, and innings pitched (233?), and finished third in rWAR (5.6) and sixth in fWAR (4.5).

Dickey is the third Mets pitcher to win the award, and the first since Dwight Gooden's magical 1985 campaign. Tom Seaver won the award in 1969, 1973, and 1975 with the Mets, then with the Reds in 1981 finished second to Fernando Valenzuela in a strike-shortened season.