On Friday afternoon, Oklahoma City guard Russell Westbrook officially announced he will not compete in this summer's Olympic Games. The All-NBA team member cited his decision was difficult, but made in the best interest of his family.

Westbrook joins a star-studded lineup of U.S. Men's National talent to forgoe the Rio Olympics. Other All-Stars not appearing in Rio include: Chris Paul, LaMarcus Aldrige, Blake Griffin, Anthony Davis and John Wall. Though Westbrook is out, teammates Kevin Durant and Serge Ibaka are likely to play major roles for their respective national teams.