Bruce Arians might not have come out of nowhere to win the Associated Press NFL Coach of the Year Award, but he is the first to do it as an interim coach and the first with a 0-0 record. It was a most unusual year.

Over the 12 weeks Arians toiled as interim coach during coach Chuck Pagano's absence for leukemia treatment, the Indianapolis Colts went 9-3. The wins and losses went to Pagano, the coach of record. The satisfaction of carrying on for his friend went to Arians, the loyal lieutenant, who Saturday night ran away with the Coach of the Year Award, which will be presented tonight on the "Second Annual NFL Honors" show on NFL Network.

Arians, who since has become Arizona Cardinals head coach, got 36 1/2 votes from a media panel of 50 who regularly cover the NFL. Pagano was second with 5 1/2, followed by the Seattle Seahawks Pete Carroll with 5.

Washington quarterback Russell Griffin III took the AP Offensive Rookie of the Year Award with a 29-vote total. Colts quarterback Andrew Luck was second with 11 votes, followed by Seattle's Russell Wilson with 10.