On Thursday three more finalists for NHL awards were announced, the top three vote-getters for the Selke Trophy.

They are Patrice Bergeron of the Bruins, Anze Kopitar of the Kings and reigning winner Jonathan Toews of the Blackhawks. The Selke Trophy is awarded "to the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game." It has pretty much become an award for centermen, which all three of this season's finalists are.

Bergeron is a finalist for this award for a third straight season and at this point there's no reason to think he won't remain a staple for many years to come. He is the NHL's premier faceoff guru as this season he won 1,015 alone, more than any player has had in a season in seven years. The Bruins are a beat defensively and he's a large reason why. Bergeron draws the toughest defensive assignments for the Bruins, is there for any critical defensive-zone faceoff and plays more short-handed minutes than any other Bruin. And while it shouldn't matter (it does though), he had 30 goals and 32 assists this season to go with his plus-38.